The City of Alta has a Mayor/Council form of government with a City Clerk and five council members.   The Mayor is elected by the voters for a term of two years and the council is elected for staggered four year terms.  The council meets in regular session on the first Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers of City Hall, but can meet for special meetings at any time or place.  Correspondence for the Mayor and Council can be mailed to the City of Alta at 223 Main Street, Alta, IA  51012.  Individuals wishing to place an item on the council meeting agenda may bring a written request to City Hall or submit by email to by noon on the Thursday preceding the next council meeting.  Citizens may also address the Mayor and Council on non-agenda government related items during the public forum section of each regular council meeting.




Term Expiration

Mayor Kevin Walsh 01/01/2024 - 12/31/2025
City Council Member Willie Lang 01/01/2022 - 12/31/2025
City Council Member Desi Suter 01/01/2022 - 12/31/2025
City Council Member Pam Henderson 01/01/2024 - 12/31/2027
City Council Member Bruce McGowan 01/01/2024 - 12/31/2027
City Council Member Lee Meyer 01/01/2024 - 12/31/2027


Council History

City Clerk
Megan Peterson
(712) 200-2105

City Hall

Alta City Hall
223 Main Street

Alta, IA  51002